July 27, 2014 Vol 1 Issue 1

Ireland Government System



Ireland President Michael D. Higgins. President Higgins was elected in 2011 for a seven year term.



Ireland government is a parliamentary democracy. This photo shows the House of Representative and Senate.

The Court System

The Court System in Ireland is known as the "common law" jurisdiction. Many countries share this same practice which originated from the English legal system.

The courts are ruled by the Supreme Courts and are broken in two branches: The criminal and civil branches.

The civil branch includes cases involving individuals, organizations and the State.

The criminal branch involves prosecutions brought by the State of the accused parties.

The Supreme Courts is the final appeal of both civil and criminal.

Background of Government

Ireland government is broken into two different governments. The Republic of Ireland is a parliamentary democracy, while Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and has a power-sharing executive.

Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland may have different forms of government but a peace treaty was established in 1994. Northern Ireland may become part of the Republic of Ireland at any time as long as the majority of Northern Ireland citizens vote to do so.

Even with the difference of Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, the country as a whole still is referred to as Ireland.

Currently, Ireland is also a part of many different organizations, such as the European Union, United Nations and Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The Government Structure

The President of the Republic of Ireland is voted into office by majority of votes from the citizens. The sections that fall directly under the President are the Council of State, the prime minister and parliament.

The Parliament consists of Senate (Seanad Eireann) and House of Representatives (Dail Eireann). The Senate has 60 members which are elected as follows:

- 43 elected from panels
- 11 nominated by Prime Minister
- 6 elected by national universities

The House of Representatives has 166 members that are elected by popular vote.

Northern Ireland has 108 representatives that are known as Members of Legislative Assembly. The MLA's do make their own decisions by majority of votes within the representatives, and also hold representation within the United Kingdom.